We’re Engaged!

11 10 2011

Now that I’ve shared the great news with all of my family and friends, I thought it was time that I share the news on the blog – I’m engaged to be married to the boy.  We’re so excited!  I guess I might eventually have to stop calling him “the boy” and change it to “the hubs” or something more appropriate for our new stage in life.  🙂

Mike proposed to me on Boreas Pass, just outside of Breckenridge, Colorado.  It was Sunday, October 2 so the Aspen trees were showing off their gorgeous fall colors.  We stopped to take pictures near the top of the pass, very close to the Continental Divide.  We took some pictures and after a while Mike made a little speech, got down on one knee, pulled out a beautiful diamond ring from his pocket and asked me to marry him.  It was perfect, very much our style and even better because Hamlet was there.  We couldn’t get engaged without little Hammy being present!

When I called my mom to tell her the wonderful news, one of the questions she asked was, “did you tell Hamlet?”  How cute, right?  She’s such a good Grammy.  I said, “yes, he knows, he was there for the whole thing.”  Mom replied, “oh good, he knows his future is secure.”  That made me laugh.  I love that Mom loves this dog as much as Mike and I do and considers him part of the family, just like we do.  That’s what marriage is all about, right?  The joining together of two people and ultimately two families.  Hamlet’s just lucky enough to be a member on both sides.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

