Take Your Dog to Work Day Fail

21 06 2011

As I’m sure many of you know, today is Take Your Dog to Work Day.  According to the Take Your Dog to Work Day website, TYDTW Day, “was created to celebrate the great companions dogs make and to encourage their adoption from humane societies, animal shelters and breed rescue clubs. This annual event asks pet lovers to celebrate the humane-canine bond and promote pet adoption by encouraging their employers to support TYDTWDay by opening their workplace to employees’ four-legged friends on this one special day.”  You know that I certainly support pet adoption from animal shelters and breed rescue clubs (hello, MidAmerica Boston Terrier Rescue!) but what you may not know is that I totally failed to participate in Take Your Dog to Work Day this year.  I didn’t bring Hamlet to work today.  I didn’t work from home so I could be with him.  I didn’t even set up a live streaming webcam so we can log on and watch his housebound antics him sleep all day.  FAIL!

I’m sure you’re wondering why a dog lover like me and someone who has participated in TYDTW Day in the past wouldn’t participate this year.  The answer is that I brought him to work on Tuesday, June 21.  No, I didn’t get my dates mixed up and think that June 21 was TYDTW Day.  Tuesday happened to be a day when my two bosses were out of town on business so there were less people in the office and I thought it would be fun to bring Hamlet in to meet the new people we’ve recently hired.  Last night I remembered that today is TYDTW Day but decided that Hamlet had already been to the office once this week and I shouldn’t push my luck.  Yes, push my luck, because TechnicallyDogsAren’tAllowedInOurOfficeBuilding.  (That’s my way of running the words together and writing that really fast in the hopes that no one notices I’ve been breaking the rules all this time when I bring him to work.)  Oh yeah, and please don’t tell the landlord/property management company of my office building.  Hopefully this explains why I didn’t bring Ham to work today, of all days when his presence would have been (fingers crossed, if the landlord didn’t stop by) celebrated.

But now the fun part!  I snapped a few pics the other day when Hamlet was in the office so we can all pretend that he’s here today.  I even have a food and water dishes under my desk; well, not really because that would definitely be filed under “Crazy Dog Lady” but I’m just trying to extend the make believe.  Anyway, on to the pictures.  I know you’re all just here for the pictures of the Boston Terrier anyway.  My ramblings just get in the way.  Feel free to skip my ramblings, enjoy the pics, and post a lovely, pithy, exceedingly complimentary comment at the bottom.  Of course if you’re skipping the ramblings then you won’t have read this.  Oh well, picture time!

Hamlet often sits in my lap while at work.  He’s small enough that I can place my arms on either side of him and still access my keyboard and mouse.  He’s also small enough that I can see over him.  Until he decides to climb on the desk and see what all the fuss is about.

image

"If I had opposable thumbs I could type 150 words per minute. And use the mouse...or eat it."

Ham loves to be under things, whether the coffee table at home or a blanket.  So I set up his camp underneath my desk.

image

"Just call me George Costanza, napping under my desk."

Later on he made it clear that he wanted to nap in the middle of the action, so as not to miss anything (even while napping he can apparently absorb the surrounding action).  Yes, he travels with his food and water dishes, red rubber squeaky mouse, and favorite bone.  There’s not much playing with toys when there are 12 new people to smell and their desks to scour for crumbs.

image

"Wake me up when someone comes into your cubicle."

That’s it for the Very Close to the Real Take Your Dog to Work Day But Not Quite the Real Take Your Dog to Work Day.  I wish I had a picture of what Hamlet looked like when I returned from lunch.  My co-worker Alison LOVES Hamlet and offered to watch him for ten minutes while I went to grab a Chipotle chicken burrito bowl (I could eat one of those things every darn day).  I got back to find a telephone cord tied to Hamlet’s collar, Alison holding the other end, and Hamlet eagerly leaping at every person who so much as breathed in his general direction.  Turns out Hamlet kept trying to run for the door, Alison couldn’t find his leash (it was in the cabinet in my cubicle), and she used a telephone cord to rein him in.  Don’t worry, the telephone cord was unplugged and he was safe and sound.  Alison has two Boxers of her own so she knows a thing or two about wrangling excited dogs.

What are you doing for Take Your Dog to Work Day?  Or is every day Take Your Dog to Work Day for you (if so, just color me jealous!)?

Actions

Information

2 responses

24 06 2011
Sunday

Are you kidding?! Tank would be the worst office dog in the history of office dogs. When she’s not punching other dogs in the face, she’s humping them. Also we’re unemployed right now, so I wish it was Send Your Husband to Work Day.

Also, because I’ve never said so: Ham is the cutiest cute it cutetown.

26 07 2011
Shelley @ Green Eggs and Hamlet

Oh my gosh, Sunday, thanks so much for your comment and my apologies that I’m such a delinquent blogger and didn’t respond earlier! Part of what makes Tank special and awesome is her dog punching ability. Thanks for saying Ham is cute, I now have to listen to him gloat while he run-farts all around the apartment. 😉

Leave a Reply

