Shelby + Shelley = Love

1 04 2011

I’ve always thought about getting Hamlet a companion to play with and I’ve decided we’re ready to take the plunge.  So this morning I called local no-kill animal shelter MaxFund and made an appointment for tomorrow to go meet this little lady.

Her name is Shelby and yes, she is a cat.  Isn’t she gorgeous?  Plus I think it’s darling that her name is Shelby, so close to my name (Shelley).  When I saw Steel Magnolias as a little girl I wanted to name  my daughter Shelby like Julia Roberts’s character.  I don’t have a daughter but I will soon have a Shelby cat (paws crossed!) so I think the fates have aligned.  Shelby + Shelley = Love.

Shelby’s listing on the MaxFund website describes her as sweet, affectionate and a lover of people.  While she prefers to live in a home without other pets or children, she has lived with a dog before so a quiet dog who leaves her alone will be just fine.  I think Hamlet fits the bill purrfectly (get ready for a lot more cat puns in upcoming posts).  I can’t wait to meet this cat with a “heart of gold” and bring her home.

Like I said, tomorrow is our meet and greet appointment and if all goes well then I’ll go back with Hamlet so he can meet her too.  I’m sure he’ll love her as much as I do and we can bring Shelby home as a new happy family member.

Now if you are a regular reader or know me at all, you’ll know I don’t consider myself a cat person.  Crazy dog lady – yes!  Cat lady – no thank you.  You may also remember my Hamlet’s motto, “Dogs rule, cats drool.”  So it should come as no surprise to you that this is the first of April and the joke’s on you.  April Fool’s!

If there’s ever another pet in the Green Eggs and Hamlet household, it will certainly be a dog.  Well, never say “never,” right?  But since just this morning I witnessed a rather nasty stand-off between Hamlet and the black cat from next door (much rearing up and harumphing from Hamlet and hissing from the cat included), I don’t think a cat would be the best choice.  Especially considering Shelby is a cat that prefers no other pets or a quiet dog.

The good news for cat lovers is that Shelby is a cat in need of a new home (her previous family had a baby and another on the way and she didn’t do well with the changes in the household) and is at MaxFund and would love to meet you.  See?  I can be an ambassador for felines without wanting one of my own.

But, just in case there is any confusion, please let me submit this video (on YouTube via Cravendale, an English milk company) for evidence that dogs are loyal animal companions and cats are two-faced curs vying for world domination and human submission.

p.s. Please, please watch that YouTube video.  If you don’t die laughing, then I’m afraid we can no longer be interweb friends, for that is what the interweb is for – sharing silly cat videos.

p.p.s. The part about me watching Steel Magnolias as a child and wanting to name my future daughter Shelby is 100% true – just ask my mom.

Actions

Information

3 responses

1 04 2011
Priscilla

Once again, I have fallen for your April Fool issue. Cute cat — I thought you had finally come over to the feline side

2 04 2011
modernation

At the beginning I thought maybe Trigger changed your mind. But then I realized you would not bring a cat home without sharing the news with your bestie before it hit the blog! Love you and Shelby is adorable. Trigger says, “Cat rule and dogs do too!”

4 04 2011
Sally K Gilbert

It’s true; Shelley did want to name a daughter Shelby, and I am happy to vouch for her, or Hamlet, anytime. Mom

Leave a Reply

