Pack Man

24 11 2010

Hi, my name is Shelley and I’m an over-packer (Crowd: Hi, Shelley!).  I pack my suitcase full of clothes, too many shoes, lots of toiletries and usually extra of everything “just in case.”  I’ve gotten better in recent years but now I’ve realized that my problem doesn’t stop with me; it extends to my dog too.

For Hamlet’s stay with friends (Teresa and Gunner, if you’re a loyal reader) over Thanksgiving I packed almost every single thing that Hamlet owns.  The only things left behind were his football jersey, Halloween costume, and the treat pouch we use while training him.

image

Yes, that tote bag is entirely filled with Hamlet’s stuff.  Everything from his food and bowls to his snow boots and coat.  The photo doesn’t even show all of his stuff because in another area of the family room was his kennel stuffed with his favorite blankets and his dog bed.  I did manage to resist including a t-shirt that I’d slept in (something that smells like me for familiarity) which I did pack the first time he stayed at my parents’ house.

I can never quite decide if Hamlet gets excited or nervous when I pack up his things.  He definitely knows it’s HIS stuff and HIS bag.  There is a lot of prancing and jumping around and circling but let’s face it, there’s a lot of that on an everyday basis with a Boston Terrier.  Then there’s a lot of this:

image

Sticking his head into the bag and digging around is his favorite activity while I pack for him.  First he’s a bit tentative, as in the photo above, like he’s just checking the bag to see what I packed (hint: everything!).  Then he goes into what I call rooting mode where he buries his face in the bag, smells everything (here’s another hint, Ham, everything smells like you) and sometimes even pulls something out as if to say, “I’m not yet done playing with Busy Squirrel.”

image

Rooting mode is followed by more dancing, circling, rearing up on his hind legs and play bowing.  Finally we have a conversation where I remind him where he’s going, where I’m going, and when I’ll be back.  Like I said, I’m not sure if he’s excited or nervous when we go through this routine but I’m going to take it as excitement if for no other reason than it makes me feel better about leaving him.  🙂

What do you do with your dog when you travel?  Does he/she get to go along or do you have to leave him/her behind?  Someone please tell me I’m not the only one who packs a whole bag of stuff for their dog.

Actions

Information

4 responses

27 11 2010
According to Gus

Don’t feel bad, our bag full of Gus stuff looks just like this. It’s amazing how much stuff they need for a trip! Gus has flown with us about a dozen times and he normally requires an entire suitcase to himself!

29 12 2010
Shelley @ Green Eggs & Hamlet

So true, According to Gus! They are like human babies – so small but come with so much stuff. 🙂

3 03 2011
Gina

Your bag looks like mine. : ) In fact, the only thing that is probably not my dog’s items are my wallet and phone. : )

4 03 2011
Shelley @ Green Eggs and Hamlet

Gina, I’m sure one day our dogs will even have their own wallets and phones. Can you imagine dogs with bluetooth headsets out for a walk with their owners?

Leave a Reply

