I Pledge to Be the Change for Pets

27 09 2010

In the last couple of weeks there has been much discussion and many a recap of BlogPaws West, held September 9-11 in Denver, CO.  Unfortunately Hamlet and I did not attend, a real bummer since the conference was held right in our own backyard.  I was volunteering that weekend for a run/walk to benefit Pancreatic Cancer Action Network and helping my friend get everything organized, as she is the event coordinator for the Denver affiliate.  I didn’t blog about it since it wasn’t dog related but my friend Amanda did a nice overview of our weekend here.

I tried to follow the BlogPaws action via Twitter and learned a bunch of great tips and and found a few new awesome dog bloggers to follow.  But the thing that stuck with me the most is to Be the Change for Pets.  I have blogged about Be the Change before but I’ve decided it’s time to get my hindquarters in gear and take some action to help animals in need.

I’m trying to come up with some pawesome ideas about how I can raise money, spread the word about animal adoption, and be a general do-gooder for our favorite four-legged friends.  Since so many pet bloggers have come up with such creative and fun ideas to truly and positively change pets’ lives for the better, I feel the need to follow suit and so something equally as cool.

Last week I was bopping around on Twitter and learned about an extremely unfortunate incident that resulted in a rescue dog being shot and killed by a police officer at a Washington D.C. street festival on Sunday, September 12th.  The dog was a Pit Bull / Shar Pei mix named Parrot and he was being fostered through Lucky Dog Animal Rescue, based out of Washington D.C.  You can read the full story here from i Love Dogs.

Hearing of Parrot’s tragedy got me thinking about what I could do to honor such a sweet dog who had such an unfortunate and untimely end to his life.  I immediately thought of Be the Change for Pets.  I may not yet have my super cool and über-creative way of helping pets but in the meantime I can do something.  I can make a promise to Parrot, to every other rescue dog, and to every pet in general.

1. I promise not to judge a dog (or cat) by the name of his breed but by the content of his character.

2. I will promote rescue dogs and rescue organizations and the many benefits of adopting pets.

3. I will protect animals in general and do my best for those in need.

4. I will be the change.

Promise, promote, protect, be the change: if you’re a regular reader of Green Eggs and Hamlet, I’m sure you’re not surprised at these four points.  The unwritten rule is number five, I love Boston Terriers and all dogs animals.  So while you might not be surprised, I feel good about having these four points written down to remind myself of how I can make a difference in this world.  Don’t worry, I’ll keep working on my super cool and über-creative method of helping pets and you’ll be the first to hear about it when my plan is ready.

Are you excited to Be the Change for Pets?  What do you do to help animals in need?  Got any ideas for me to raise money and spread awareness for pets in need?  Jot them down in the comments; Hamlet and I are eager to hear ’em!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

