Independence Day Recap 2010

8 07 2010

You know how I like to do holiday recaps a few days after the holiday (Christmas, Valentine’s Day) and Independence Day 2010 is no different.

We celebrated this year in much the same fashion as last year: a walk with our favorite Boston Terrier followed by a barbecue at my parents’ house with my brothers, their significant others, and the world’s cutest 18 month old, my niece Madelyn.

On our walk with Hamlet we were sure to take our route on the trail so we could walk by the park and enjoy the old-fashioned Fourth of July celebration that the park hosts annually.  Since we didn’t enter the park (dogs aren’t allowed) we just enjoyed the celebration from afar.  I realize the lack of pictures is abhorrent but I didn’t think to bring my camera or my fancy new smartphone with me.  Just think volunteers in pioneer clothes, kids playing on old-fashioned stilts, homemade lemonade, and men in Civil war uniforms firing a cannon.  Before you begin berating me for missing such a great photo opp, let’s keep in mind that we were watching from afar through the fence so the pics would have been even worse than my usual amateur photography.

The highlight for Hamlet was definitely seeing the horses from the park up close and personal.  If you follow me (and Ham) on Twitter you may have seen that he’s quite obsessed with horses.  Usually he spies on the draft horses but for July 4th we saw the quarter horses (the draft horses were busy pulling the wagon for hay rides).  Thank goodness my boy had his smartphone in tow and snapped a few pics.

Hamlet started off by introducing himself nicely to the horses (the brown one was much more interested in Ham than the paint).  Unfortunately we didn’t get a good picture of the two-minute long meet and greet where Hamlet had his front paws on the fence and he and the horse were nose-to-nose.

Ham horses July 4th 1

Hamlet introducing himself.

The meet and greet progressed into Hamlet running back and forth along the fence and barking at the horses and doing play bows (like a downward dog yoga pose).  I felt bad and kept apologizing to the horses (feel free to call me crazy for speaking to animals) but Mike insisted that Hamlet just wanted to play.  Mike translated Hamlet’s barks into something like, “Hi I’m Hamlet, who are you?  Hey come back here.  Are you ready to play?  I’m over here.  Happy Fourth of July!  Wow your poop is really big.  Why are you cooped up in this giant dog kennel?  Seriously, come out of there and let’s play.”  I think Mike is right; Hamlet always stares longingly at the horses and always seems to want to get through the fence and go romp with them.  I’m going to stick with the play (versus antagonizing) train of thought until proved otherwise.

Ham horses July 4th 2

"Hey, come back! I wasn't done sniffing or barking at you."

We let the horses be and moved along back home.  Then it was time to swing by the grocery for some last-minute ingredients for my corn avocado salad and on to my parents’ house for a barbecue with the fam.  Besides his innate patriotism by being the dog breed known as the American gentleman, Hamlet looked pretty patriotic in his red harness.  Unfortunately it poured rain all afternoon and evening in Colorado on the Fourth so our barbecue was enjoyed mostly indoors.  Good thing we enjoyed a fireworks show in Denver on July 3rd (don’t worry, Hamlet was safe and secure indoors with an iPod playing)!

What did you do for Independence Day this year?

Actions

Information

2 responses

14 07 2010
Emily Holley

I love your blog! I am a huge dog lover and Boston fan! My shih tzu, Ellie, loves goats. I’m glad to see she isn’t the only dog obsessed with barnyard animals!

16 07 2010
Shelley @ Green Eggs & Hamlet

Barnyard animals are the best! Maybe we should write an updated ee-i-ee-i-o song complete with Boston Terriers, Shih Tzus, goats, and horses!

Leave a Reply

