Nine to Five

4 06 2010

Hamlet had his annual visit to the vet on Tuesday morning.  I didn’t want to drive to the vet, drive home to drop him off, and then drive to work so I asked my bosses if I could just bring him to work right after the appointment was over.  They said yes – score!  So the day I’ve been waiting for ever since I started working at the small, casual, start-up software company (which I always imagined a perfect place for bringing dogs to work) came true – Hamlet came to work with me!

He was the perfect little gentleman (I wouldn’t expect anything less) and spent much of the day sleeping under my desk.

Yes, I brought his dog bed to work with me as well as his yellow blanket.  I wanted him to be comfortable since he’d be there for seven or eight hours.  I even set up a makeshift barricade.  We don’t keep a baby gate at my office so I used my file drawer, my trash can, my gym bag, and a dart board to cordon off the entrance to my cubicle.

You may notice that this barricade doesn’t look tall enough to contain a Boston Terrier that can jump a good three vertical feet.  No, it wasn’t.  The good news was that as long as I was sitting in my cubicle, Hamlet would stay there too.  But the minute I left my cubicle to go to my boss’s office, my colleague’s cubicle, or the kitchen, Hamlet leaped over the “fence” and trotted along behind me.

All in all, a successful day at the office.  He won over all of my colleagues, he didn’t pee or poop anywhere indoors, he didn’t make a peep all day, and productivity only dipped slightly.

Have you ever taken your dog to work?  How did it turn out?

Actions

Information

6 responses

4 06 2010
Ellen B. @ DFS Pet Blog

I bring my dog, Kobe, to work quite often. Usually it’s when the photo studio here at work asks me to bring him for modeling. Since my office is right next to the photo studio, and because he’s so well behaved, I keep him in my cubicle while he’s not “working”. He basically sleeps, greets people as they walk past my cube, and looks at me for a pat every now and then. Days with Kobe here are my favorite days at work. (Great pictures of Hamlet, the little cutie!)

4 06 2010
Shelley @ Green Eggs & Hamlet

Wow, a model, how glamorous! Sounds like Kobe has a great work-life balance. 🙂

4 06 2010
Ellen B. @ DFS Pet Blog

LOL! Not sure about glamorous but he does get lots of treats & toys! (And I do like to show him off) He’s a good color and a good size for photos, so they say. It’s always a treat for me to have him at work. Enjoy your weekend 🙂

4 06 2010
modernation

Your assistant is so cute! Hopefully he will be back to the office soon. When I work from home, Cash comes with me. Hehe!

4 06 2010
Shelley @ Green Eggs & Hamlet

Ah, the benefits of working from home!

16 07 2010
Nine to Five, Round 2 « Green Eggs and Hamlet

[…] course I’m talking about when we each take Hamlet to the office.  When Hamlet comes with me, I bring a canvas tote bag chock-full of what he’ll need for the day (bed, food and water […]

Leave a Reply

