Let Me Count the Ways I Love You

18 02 2010

I’ll warn you, this post is going to get mushy.  The kind of mushy where people talk about love to a point that either makes you want to eat a pound of mini Reese’s peanut butter cups or gag or both.  However, hopefully none of those happen to you while reading this because it’s my little love ode to Hamlet.

Don’t start thinking I am some kind of psycho (weird yes, psycho no).  I am talking about the loving friendship and companionship that comes from a human-canine connection.  I love Hamlet.  I just do.  Now let me count the ways.

1. I love when he hides under the bed and peeks out from under the dust ruffle.

I see you.

2. I love that he could care less when I trim his nails and even falls into an almost-asleep-trance.

No restraints or sleep aids necessary.

3. I love the looks he gives me while I’m on the computer.

"You've been on that computer a while. Why don't you take a break and pet me?"

"What's so special about these things anyway?"

"Look! I'm a webcam."

4. I love the spot on his head.

Push black button on top of head to turn Boston Terrier on or off. Note: off position does not work.

5. I love how he can do taco tongue.

"All the better to learn how to use a straw."

6. I love the face he makes when he’s sleepy.

"What? I'm not tired."

7. I love that he listens to me even if he has no idea what I’m talking about.

"Mm hmm, yes, and then what happened?"

There you have it – seven reasons of about one million why I love Hamlet.  As the “Golden Girls” theme song goes, “[his] heart is true, [he’s] a pal and a confidant.”

In the spirit of love and sharing, tell me your thoughts.  What are some of the reasons you love your dog?

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 02 2010
modernation

In the one month that Cash has been apart of our lives, the list of things I love about him is infinite. Just some of them:

1. I love the way he looks at me with his crinkly, puppy face
2. I love when he totally passes out on my lap on the couch at night.
3. I love how he tries to pretend he is the same size as the cat and tries to lay in the cat’s spot on the back of the couch.
4. I love how he likes to help me in the kitchen and lays by my feet as I prep dinner or do dishes.
5. I love how he runs into his kennel at night because he is ready for bed!
6. I love giving him baths
7. I love taking him for family walks with Aaron

Can’t wait for you to meet him, Auntie Shelley!

18 02 2010
Shelley @ Green Eggs & Hamlet

Oh, I think #5 is my favorite because I am getting a mental image of major cuteness! Love that baby Cash.

Leave a Reply

