Halloween Recap 2011

28 11 2011

Now that it’s after Thanksgiving, you’re probably in the mood for some Halloween stuff, right?  No?  Me either.  But some of these pictures are too funny not to share.  So bear with me.  Or just scroll down and feast on the eye candy – you don’t even have to trick-or-treat for it!

This being the first time in five years that I’ve been living in a house (versus an apartment) for Halloween, pumpkin carving was definitely in order.  No, there’s not a rule that says you can’t carve pumpkins in apartments but it sure is more fun when you can put them on display where people other than the two who lived in said apartment will see the jack o’ lanterns.  Being as in love with Hamlet as I am, I decided to carve a Boston Terrier into my pumpkin.  I found a stencil on the Better Homes and Gardens website, purchased my pumpkin carving kit and I was all set.  Here’s how it turned out.

image

I called him Hamoween.

On Halloween night I invited my mom and stepdad, my sister-in-law Kari and brother Gabe, and my friend Melissa over for dinner and giving out candy to the trick-or-treaters.  Poor Melissa got in a car accident on the way to our house (don’t worry, she’s a-ok but her car got totaled) and my brother couldn’t make it.  So Mom, stepdad Steve, Kari, and I forged ahead without them.  We are baked ziti and salad and ate a lot of Halloween candy.  Mike got home later and got into the spirit so we put on our costumes.  Mike is the three stooges and I’m a cupcake.  Hamlet is a reluctant sheriff, who would not wear the cowboy in a saddle on his back.  Sorry for the blurry photo, darn cell phone camera.

image

Moe and the sherrif were all business while the cupcake was happy to eat candy.

Mom and Kari got in on the fun too.

image

Mom was a more fun-loving Moe.

image

Larry loves cupcakes.

Of course Hamoween got lit and put out on the front porch.  No, that doesn’t mean he was too drunk and banished to the outdoors.

image

Don't let his droopy eyes fool you, Hamoween was sober as a judge.

Hamlet was the constant surveyor.  Well, “constant” is a bit of a stretch.  At first he was diligent about barking in response to the doorbell and running to the front door to greet trick-or-treaters.  But when I pulled the baked ziti out of the oven and served dinner, he was totally uninterested in the doorbell or trick-or-treaters or Halloween in general; his only focus was cheesy baked pasta (don’t worry, he didn’t get anything but dog food and a dog treat or two).

image

"Hey, you! What are you doing out there? Get off my lawn!"

My mom might have had a little too much candy because this was the last picture I took of the evening.  Yes, she is wearing Hamlet’s sheriff hat.  I love the smile on her face – isn’t my mom the best?  I sure think so.  I also love that you can see sister-in-law Kari in the window reflection.

image

There's a new sheriff in town.

Does anyone have any Halloween stories they want to share a month after Halloween?  No, just me?  Alright, I promise to share my Christmas recap in a more timely manner.  I also promise to include a picture of my stepdad, as he was somehow (inadvertently) not included in any of these pics.

Actions

Information

One response

30 11 2011
Sally Knight Gilbert

Thanks for inviting us for Halloween dinner and fun. Your Hamoween pumpkin was incredible — great job!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 524 other followers

